Conservationist of the Year Award

Criteria

usable Bayfield Conservation has recognized outstanding conservation achievements, each year since 1984, with the Conservationist of the Year Award.

The award acknowledges one individual, farm, business, or group per year who puts into action positive conservation principles. The nominee must have undertaken conservation efforts over a number of years showing long-term benefits for water, soil, and living things. Examples include:

- Improving local water quality
- Conservation farming
- Reforestation
- Conservation education
- Providing wildlife and fish habitat
- Promoting environmental awareness & action

Eligibility

ndividuals, farms, organizations, or companies that reside in, or have completed conservation work

in, Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) watersheds, are eligible to win the Conservationist of the Year award. Current ABCA staff members and directors are excluded.



Recognition

Ausable Bayfield Conservation makes a donation for a tree and plaque at a Commemorative Woods site maintained by Ausable Bayfield Conservation Foundation.



Please go to nomination form on the back of this page

Previous Conservationist of the Year Award Winners

- Keith, Geoff and Mike Strang (Strang Farms)
- · Blue Bayfield
- Koos and Nathalie Vermue
- Rick Quinn and Diane Hawthorne and Family
- Mels and Ruthanne van der Laan, of Cold Stream Ranch
- Lambton Shores
 Phragmites Community
 Group
- Cordner Farms Jane Sadler Richards and Doug Richards
- Bob Norris
- Peter Darbishire
- · Joan and John Love
- Ann and Bill Phelan
- Exeter Lions Club
- Patricia Down* and Robert Down
- · Lorne Teeple *
- Grand Bend Community
 Foundation

- Stewardson Dairy
- Boys' & Girls' Club, London (Middlesex ECO Crew)
- Shadyside Farms,
 Paul and Vic Hodgins
- Ray Letheren, Friends of the Bayfield River
- Environmentally Concerned Citizens of Lambton Shores
- Andy deBoer
- · Stephanie Donaldson
- Everet and Joan Van Sligtenhorst
- John MacPherson
- Straw Family
- George Cantrick *
- · David McClure
- Brian Arnold
- Fred Dobbs
- · Lions Club of Arkona
- Village of Arkona
- Township of Hibbert
- Stephen Bright

- Dinney Funeral Home
- Huron Fish and Game Club
- · Garry Palmateer
- · Lions Club of Clinton
- Bluewater Recycling Assoc.
- Andrew Dixon
- Ralph and Eleanor Smith
- Elmer Trick
- Armstrong East Cottage Association
- · Lambton Wildlife Inc.
- David Ball
- Adelaide Township
- · Arnold Westlaken
- Tuckersmith Township
- Van Loon Farms
- Village of Hensall
- Bob Montgomery
- Jim Reeve
- DEL Farms
- Bud Walker

- Bert and Margaret Daynard
- · Ausable Anglers Club
- Carfrey Cann
- Keith Connelly
- John Deeves
- Nancy Glendinning
- Hayter Turkey Farms
- Peter Rombouts
- Bill Thirlwall
- Ausable Nomads
- Dearing Farms
- Huron Soil and Water Conservation District
- Murray and Ron McRae
- Huron Board of Education
- Thomas Doherty
- Huron Centennial School
- · Jerry Giesen
- Claybird Gun Club
- · Wayne Woods
- Bayfield Anglers Association
- Jay Campbell
- * Award given posthumously.

Conservationist of the Year Award





The nomination deadline is February 24, 2022.

Nomination Form

I wish to nominate the following person or organization:

Name of nomin	nee:
Contact name	(if nominee is organization or business):
Their address:	
Postal code: _	Telephone:
E-mail (optiona	al) <u>: </u>
	Tell us why this person or organization is deserving in 300 words or less:
	This nomination is being submitted by:
Your name:	
Postal code:	Telephone:
E-mail (optiona	al):

NOTICE OF COLLECTION: Personal information on this form is collected under legal authority of the *Conservation Authorities Act* for the purposes of reviewing and evaluating, by Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority, of nominations and the work of nominees to create environmental awareness and/or take positive actions for a healthier watershed. This information will also be used to assist conservation authority staff to recognize recipients through awards night and public recognition. Questions regarding this collection can be made to Brian Horner, Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Officer, ABCA, 71108 Morrison Line, RR 3 Exeter, ON NOM 1S5 or phone **519-235-2610** or **1-888-286-2610**.

Please send nomination form to:

Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority • 71108 Morrison Line • RR 3 Exeter, ON • N0M 1S5

Attention: Tim Cumming, Communications Specialist E-mail: tcumming@abca.ca

Website: abca.ca Phone: 519-235-2610 • Toll-free: 1-888-286-2610 • Facsimile: 519-235-1963