## **Conservationist of the Year Award**

# What is the Conservationist of the Year Award?CriteriaEligibility

A usable Bayfield Conservation has recognized outstanding achievements in conservation, each year since 1984, with an award to the Conservationist of the Year.

The Conservation Award acknowledges one individual or group per year who demonstrates positive conservation principles. The nominee must have undertaken conservation



efforts over a number of years that have shown long-term benefits for the natural environment and society. Examples include:

- Improving local water quality
- Conservation farming
- Reforestation
- Environmental education
- Providing wildlife and fish habitat
- Promoting environmental awareness + action

#### Conservationist of the Year award winners in the past:

- Mels and Ruthanne van der Laan, of Cold Stream Ranch
- Lambton Shores
   Phragmites Community
   Group
- Cordner Farms Jane Sadler Richards and Doug Richards
- Bob Norris
- Peter Darbishire
- Joan and John Love
- Ann and Bill Phelan
- Exeter Lions Club
- Patricia Down \* and Robert Down
- Lorne Teeple \*
- Grand Bend Community
   Foundation
- Stewardson Dairy
- Boys' and Girls' Club, London (Middlesex ECO Crew)

- Shadyside Farms, Paul and Vic Hodgins
- Ray Letheren, Friends of the Bayfield River
- EnvironmentallyConcerned Citizens of Lambton Shores
- Andy deBoer
- Stephanie Donaldson
- Everet and Joan Van Sligtenhorst
- John MacPherson
- Straw Family
- George Cantrick \*
- David McClure
- Brian Arnold
- Fred Dobbs
- Lions Club of Arkona
- Village of Arkona
- Township of Hibbert
- Stephen Bright
- Dinney Funeral Home
- Huron Fish and Game Club
- Garry Palmateer

ndividuals, organizations, or companies who either reside in, or have completed conservation work within, the area of jurisdiction of the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA), are eligible to win



the Conservationist of the Year award. Current ABCA staff members and directors are excluded.

#### Recognition

The Conservationist of the Year receives a beautiful framed limited-edition conservation print.

Ausable Bayfield Conservation will also make a donation towards a tree and plaque at a Commemorative Woods site maintained by the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Foundation.



#### Please go to nomination form on the back of this page

- Lions Club of Clinton
- Bluewater Recycling Assoc.
- Andrew Dixon
- Ralph and Eleanor Smith
- Elmer Trick
- Armstrong East Cottage
   Association
- Lambton Wildlife Inc.
- David Ball
- Adelaide Township
- Arnold Westlaken
- Tuckersmith Township
- Van Loon Farms
- Village of Hensall
- Bob Montgomery
- Jim Reeve
- DEL Farms
- Bud Walker
- Bert and Margaret Daynard
- Ausable Anglers Club
- Carfrey Cann

- Keith Connelly
- John Deeves
- Nancy Glendinning
- Hayter Turkey Farms
- Peter Rombouts
- Bill Thirlwall
- Ausable Nomads
- Dearing Farms
- Huron Soil and Water
   Conservation District
- Murray and Ron McRae
- Huron Board of Education
  - Thomas Doherty
  - Huron Centennial School
- Jerry Giesen
- Claybird Gun Club
- Wayne Woods
- Bayfield Anglers Association
- Jay Campbell

\* Asterisk denotes that the award was given posthumously.



The nomination deadline is **Wednesday, January 31, 2018**. The award is to be presented at the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Annual Awards Evening to be held **Thursday, March 22, 2018** at Ironwood Golf Club in Exeter.

### **Nomination Form**

I wish to nominate the following person or organization:

| Name of nominee:  |  |
|---|--|
| Contact name (if nominee is organization or business):  |  |
| Their address:  |  |
|   |  |
| Postal code:  | Telephone:   |
| E-mail (optional):  |  |
| Tell us wi  | y this person or organization is deserving:  |
|   |  |
|   |  |
|   |  |
|   |  |
|   |  |
| Th  | s nomination is being submitted by:  |
| Your name:  |  |
|   |  |
|   |  |
| Postal code:  | Telephone:   |
| E-mail (optional):  |  |
| evaluating, by Ausable Bayfield Conservation Author<br>a healthier watershed. This information will also be | this form is collected under legal authority of the Conservation Authorities Act for the purposes of reviewing and<br>ity, of nominations and the work of nominees to create environmental awareness and/or take positive actions for<br>sed to assist conservation authority staff to recognize recipients through awards night and public recognition.<br>Brian Horner, Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Officer, ABCA, 71108 Morrison Line, RR 3 Exeter, ON<br>D. |
|   |  |

Please send nomination form attention to:
Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) • 71108 Morrison Line • RR 3 Exeter, ON • NOM 1S5
Attention: Tim Cumming, Communications Specialist
E-mail: communications@abca.on.ca • Website: abca.on.ca
Phone: 519-235-2610 • Toll-free: 1-888-286-2610 • Facsimile: 519.235.1963

